Superfood Breakfast Muffins

Oh, the joys of breakfast.

I never understood people who decide to skip it. It’s the jumpstart of your whole day, the kick in your metabolism’s engine.
Without it, I feel sluggish, boorish, lacking.

~

But wait- who decided fried dough with sugary syrups is an acceptable or even intelligible way to start the day? Not I.

Thus, this muffin was born. It is so healthy. (That’s basically been my mantra as of late.) If it’s healthy, I’m happy. If it’s vegan, I’m happy.

Did I mention these are slathered in homemade coconut cashew butter?

Because they are. Trust me, they’re as good as they sound. And so healthy!

Green Breakfast Muffins

Ingredients
2 1/2 cups baby spinach
1/2 cup all natural applesauce
1 tsp vanilla extract (or butter extract, either works)
1 1/2 tsp cardamom
3 tb sweetener (I used Truvia)
1/4 cup liquid sweetener (agave nectar or maple syrup)
1/2 cup whole wheat flour
1/2 cup wheat bran
1/2 cup oatmeal
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp baking powder
Flax seeds

Combine spinach, applesauce, extract, cardamom, sweetener, and liquid sweetener in food processor or blender. Pulse until spinach is completely smooth, and no pieces remain.

In bowl, sift flour, bran, oatmeal, soda, and powder until even. Stir into wet ingredients until moist throughout. Fill muffins tins 2/3 full, and top with flax seeds.

Bake at 350 degrees for about 25 minutes, until centers are cooked and tops are just browned. Let cool completely. Makes about 4 muffins.

Coconut Cashew Butter

Ingredients
2 cups cashews
1/2 cup coconut flakes, unsweetened
1/4 cup liquid sweetener (agave preferred)
1/8 cup applesauce or almond milk

Combine all ingredients in  food processor until smooth and creamy. If necessary, add more applesauce or almond milk until butter is smooth.

~

I’ve been so busy as of late, apologies for intermittent posts!

 I ordered an actual DSLR (a Canon Rebel XTi) so I can take actual photos that don’t require photo editing just to have bokeh!

On the topic of impulsive online orders, I found this shirt and absolutely had to have it (don’t judge):

And on that non-embarassing note…

Happy nomming,

Danny

JWsMadeWLuvMondays

15 responses to “Superfood Breakfast Muffins

  1. Wow, these muffins have to be the epitome of from-scratch healthful eating and baking – I’m so impressed. And you’ve found a way to incorporate spinach in baking and breakfast – no mean feat. Love this and so happy you decided to share. Welcome to Made with Love Mondays!

  2. These look amazing. As does the shirt.

  3. oh my goodness these look grand! definitely making…

  4. I love the look and sound of these and I just so happen to have everything to make them, so I’m thinking it’s gonna happen today. Found you through Made w/ Luv Mondays… (hmmm…in a world usually dominated by 40-something-year-old housewives…not sure if I should be offended by that or laugh. Even though I’m not a 40-year old housewife. ha ha ha ha.)

    • Awesome! Let me know how they turn out, I feel as though they may be *too* healthy for some people’s palates. And definitely don’t be offended, if anything it’s a lament that I can’t be a stay-at-home dad so I’d have more time to bake!

      • lol, no I’m not really offended. It’s a great statement =). I actually love the health factor and I’m going to make some for my mom who eats like a bird and always on the healthier side. Thank you!

  5. Those muffins are so…green :D I Love green foods that aren’t usually green, just so cute!
    And that pug shirt – where did you find it? As a pug owner i am excited in everything with pugs!

  6. I saw you on Made w/ Luv and just had to come say hi. I feel vegan just thinking about eating that muffin, glorious! What I missed from the link up though, was that you made the cashew butter, which is already a favorite, but that you added coconut. I am smitten.

  7. Muffins look awesome, I love the minimal added sweetener and the fact it’s green/super healthy is always a plus. Btw I have the bear version of your pug shirt :)

  8. aspiringsteph

    Looks delicious!!! Will be making this very soon!!! Thanks for the recipe!

  9. Great recipe! I love green food:)

  10. going to make these this weekend!! Ive printed off about 5 different versions of breakfast muffins but yours definitely looks the best! LOVE that they’re green nom nom!

  11. This is heaven. Have you come up with these on your own? I also love your profile description, haha trapped in the world of 40-something housewives. Thanks for stopping by and can’t wait to read more of your delicious ideas!

  12. I saw these about a week ago and knew I just had to make them. Today I did, and I must say they turned out perfect – delicious and made me feel really good eating something so healthy. I even made the cashew butter that turned these into not something just delicious but something my family even enjoyed. I will be making them over and over again. The ONLY thing I chanhed was instead of adding flax seeds I topped the muffins off with Chia seeds, since these hold WAY more nutrients than you can imagine but our bodies can actually digest the whole chia seed, where-as with flax seeds we can’t digest them unless they are ground. Thank you so much for sharing!

  13. Has anyone tried making these with pumpkin or nf greek yogurt in place of the applesauce? I love them as they are, don’t get me wrong! I was just thinking of variations. =)

Leave a Reply

