Raw Apple Pie Cookies

Time, it’s a crooked bow.

Okay, had to plug that Andrew Bird lyric. But yes, time time time. Never enough time, unless you’re thinking about it. Time moves so slow when watched, yet runs at breakneck speed if you idle. It’s viscous, transient, a vector. If there’s an in-between when it comes to time, I’ve yet to find it.

Well anyways, I was pressed for time today, and so I came home and wanted to bake something STAT. Unfortunately (or should I say: not surprisingly) the power was out. No storm, no indication as to why. But we’ve had intermittent power the past few weeks because of the storms on the East coast, so breaking out the hand fan was, if anything, routine.

The biggest problem: no oven! No fridge! No… technology!

Then I remembered: these are luxuries. People prepared food for hundred of years without a stove, and you can too. But desserts, and baking? These things usually rely on heating and cooling. My new challenge: a raw sweet!

This cookie is that sweet. Oats, cinnamon, maple, almond meal, banana, apple, and flax. It’s essentially a super cookie, it’s so dang healthy. It was the first dessert that I actually scarfed right after my little photoshoot was done. And that’s saying something!

 “Power’s Out” Raw Apple Pie Cookies

Ingredients
3/4 cup whole oats
1/4 cup almond meal
1/2 cup whole wheat flour
3 tb flax seeds
1 small banana
1 tb cinnamon
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
1 tb maple syrup
spiced apple, for topping

Combine dry ingredients (oats, almond meal, flour, and flax) in a small bowl. Add the banana, and mash until a loose dough forms. Add cinnamon, vanilla, and maple, and stir until combined. Form into 2″ balls, and flatten on sheet. Let sit for about 30 minutes, and (if you have power) refrigerate for firmer cookies. If dough is too loose, add almond meal and/or more flour. Top with sliced apple, and drizzle with additional maple syrup. Makes 4 cookies.

Today, I got to play with my best friend’s new puppy- his name is Trip and he is absolutely adorable!


I also got bored when the power was out, and decided maybe y’all want to know what I look like. I feel like most of the photos on here don’t actually show much! So head on over to my updated About Me page if you’re curious.

Happy nomming,

Danny

11 responses to “Raw Apple Pie Cookies

  1. Just found your blog and I am in love with it! Your recipes are so beautiful as are you pictures!

  2. I literally fist pumped and dis a silent scream yes! when i saw your page. Gosh,it’s just wonderful. No other way to say how awesome it is. Love it. By the way,your blog and you make me go ajkldfisryd…..

  3. These look super tasty! I am obsessed with raw cookies though I almost never make them on my own.

    PS Trip is the cutest little thing!

  4. Yes. Beautiful. I love it. Makes me excited for fall when all those fresh, orchard apples are available…

    Just out of curiosity, do you have a favorite variety of apple?

    I’ve yet to find a kind that I absolutely prefer over any other, but I’ve always gravitated towards the tart kinds.

    • I use tart apples like granny smiths for baking, mostly because it offsets the sweetness of a dish, which might be overpowered by red or yellow apples. I love both tart and sweet equally though! You really ought to try honey crisp variety, they’re lovely for apple pies with a not-so-sweet crust.

  5. It looks so delicious…I love raw desserts. I am new to your blog..I love your recipes. xxxx Lysa

  6. Very interesting post – I’ve never done much when it comes to raw “baking” and I find the whole concept of a raw cookie (or apple pie) fascinating. I also nominated your blog for a couple awards – you can check it out on today’s post…

  7. Pingback: Crowdsource Recipe Testing July 2012 - Vegan Comfort Food Recipes The Unintentional Vegan

  8. Pingback: Friday Round-Up: July 20, 2012 – The Midwest Maven

  9. Pingback: Friday Five « .the rebel grrl kitchen.

  10. I definitely have to try this: looks delicious.

    and the dog??? so cute: is yours????? but I only have renetta apples at home so….. as they are too sweet I thing I’ll sweeten only with them.
    I often use fruit to sweeten: have u ever tried kaiser pears or golden apples with cocoa and almonds????

Leave a Reply

