Vegan S’mores Donuts

Nothing like a good road trip.

I forgot how much I love the view from the backseat. The feel of driving into a hazy sunset over a highway through a bayou. The people, and the faces, and the ever changing landscape subtly mirroring your own transient mental schemas.

Ahem. Yes, road trips are quite cathartic. I went from Virginia, down to Chattanooga, TN (a cute city that’s reinventing itself), then through Alabama and Mississippi down to New Orleans (my first time going, not my last!), and ending in Houston, TX. A whirlwind three days, and well worth it.

But I was gone from my kitchen for so long! It reminded me just how much I’m loving full kitchen access while I’m home this summer. Of course, many of the hours were spent thumbing through mental archives of recipes, and trying to figure out some brand new decadent-as-heck creation I could make the second I returned. And so these donuts were conceived. :)

I’ve noticed a sort of trend in the online food world as of late. Bloggers find one particular flavor combination, or much adored treat like Oreos or Nutella, and they go completely overboard with it. I admit I’ve played into a few of the trends (Biscoff… you creamy temptress), but I do think the food blog community could use more originality. Even adaptations. Anything but copycats!

On that note, these donuts are pure nostalgia. In a ring. With gooey topping. They might be most appropriate waking up after a day of hiking, with a rustic hand thrown mug, and loafers, and a red plaid scarf, and a firepit outside the cobweb cornered window.
Yes, the imagery is vivid, but then again, so are the flavors.

Vegan S’mores Donuts

Ingredients
1 1/2 tsp active dry yeast
2 tb warm water
1/4 tsp organic sugar
1 cup unbleached organic pastry flour
1/2 cup graham flour
1/4 cup ground flax meal
1/4 cup organic brown sugar
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 cup vegan margarine, melted
1/4 cup water
1 tsp vanilla extract
3/4 tsp nutmeg

In small bowl, combine yeast and warm water. Stir and let sit for about 3 minutes. Sprinkle 1/4 tsp sugar over mixture and mix. Let sit for another few minutes until creamy and foamy.

In a large bowl, sift together pastry flour, graham flour, flax meal, brown sugar, and baking soda. Make a well in the center, then add margarine, water, vanilla, and nutmeg. Mix with a spoon until combined.

Place dough in a greased bowl with a damp towel over it. Let rise for 30 minutes in a warm, dry location (I used my oven, set to 170 degrees). After 30 minutes, punch dough down. Let rise another 30 minutes.

Roll dough out on large board, using powdered sugar to coat both sides to prevent sticking. Cut large round with a biscuit cutter, and use a smaller cutter to make the center holes. Bake for 14 minutes at 350 degrees, until outsides are just lightly browned. Let cool before frosting.

Frosting- Ingredients
5 ounces vegan chocolate, coarsely chopped
1 tb coconut oil
Suzanne’s Ricemellow Creme

Melt chocolate with oil in microwave safe bowl or using a double boiler. Dip cooled donuts in, then pipe tops with ricemellow creme. Garnish by sprinkling additional nutmeg over tops, if desired. Makes about 8 donuts.

Welp, it’s time for me to go take a dip in my pool, even though it’s a bit cloudy. But I don’t often get Mondays off anymore, and I intend to spend this one getting lightly sunburnt and listening to “The Mysterious Production of Eggs” on a giant dolphin float. On that note, here’s a few pictures from the road trip:

Me and my sister in front of the Chattanooga Choo Choo hotel. Tourist overload!

A field in Tennessee. Fun fact: right behind the gas station/ Dairy Queen. ;P I’m holding a little salt-and-pepper colored moth.

A maple eclair from a donut stand outside Houston. Fun fact: Texas loves donuts!

I took a bunch more pictures, mostly of the streets of the French Quarter of New Orleans with my film camera, but y’all will have to wait for me to develop that to see ‘em. Until then–

Happy nomming,

Danny

18 responses to “Vegan S’mores Donuts

  1. Looks great, Danny! I am excited about the ricemellow creme as a vegan alternative to marshmallow creme.

  2. Dude. I am so glad you stopped by my blog because otherwise, I’m not sure I would have seen this amazingness. Seriously- s’mores donuts? Does it get any better than that?

    You have a gorgeous blog! I love finding fellow student bakers.

  3. I love every ingredient in this donut. It has to be amazingly nommy.

  4. lovely.
    Ricemellow cream is most delicious, I haven’t had it in a while. Thanks for reminding me! and I’m so close to investing in a donut pan.
    I’d be so keen on taking a road trip right now as well.

    • No donut pan required! I just used different sized biscuit cutters for that donut shape. I’m so ready for another roadtrip, but next time I’m heading west instead of south ;)

  5. You know, it’s really not fair of you to make these beautiful and decadent treats with no way for me to partake. Every time I drop by, I’m both inspired with happiness and irritated with frustration. I just want a bite ;) Love these donuts – and I’m also a fan of travel although I tend to enjoy traveling to places I’ve already been. It’s not that I don’t enjoy discovering new places, just that there’s just something comforting about returning to familiar haunts…

  6. Yes please! Consider adding a pinterest button to your shares section so we can pin these lovely foods. :)

  7. I live in Houston, where is the donut place?! And there are 3 donut places on one road in a span of two miles. Lol!

    • I couldn’t tell you! It was really more of a shack with a drive-thru and metal bars over all the windows. But that maple eclair was delicious, maybe just because I’d been in the car too long. Haha, I’d love to live in such a donut friendly town!

  8. yum! you need a little campervan my friend, then you can road trip and bake at the same time. That’s what I do :D

    • If only! I must say I am envious of your adventures. My future plans are graduate college and then get absolutely lost for a few years!

  9. I’m happy to have a reason to drop by these donuts again – now I’ve got a craving… I’m also featuring this post in today’s Food Fetish Friday (with a link-back and attribution). I hope you have no objections and keep the creative posts coming…

  10. Thank you for posting this to finding vegan, would not have seen this blog otherwise and everything looks soooo yummy, I must try it :D thanks

  11. Pingback: PB&J Protein Squares | boyandtherabbit

Leave a Reply

