Blueberry Pancake in a Jar

Something’s different, but I don’t know what.

Have you ever felt like you were a ghost, traveling alongside the person you’d call a “self”- observing, guiding, but never influencing? It’s a strange detachment, like a fissure of thought and form. But whenever I feel this way, I notice I produce art that I’m much more satisfied with. Detachment, in my mind, means you’re getting past the barriers you put up between yourself and all the other particles strewn about the universe. It’s a welcome feeling.

And besides, seeing everything from an apart perspective means I can more easily make logical, visible connections. It makes it easier to solve basic problems such as the ever-present:

WHAT DO I EAT FOR BREAKFAST I’M SOO HUNGRY NOM

Maybe it’s just me, but when I roll out of that bed in the morning I am ferociously  hungry. I mean scarf-down-the-nearest-donut-and-10-others kind of hungry. And so it seems only natural that I’d be on the hunt for a breakfast that requires minimal preparation, or utensils, or cookware, or time.

Voilà- pancake in a jar. And it’s vegan!

Pancake in a Jar 

Ingredients
1 cup flour
1 tb baking powder
2 tb organic sugar
2 tb vegan margarine, melted (or sub. real butter)
3/4 cup nut milk (or sub. dairy milk)
Blueberries

Combine flour, baking powder, and sugar in a small bowl, and whisk until combined. Stir in melted margarine and milk until batter forms.

Place blueberries on bottoms of jars, then fill about halfway with batter. Pancake will rise while cooking. Microwave for about 1 minute for small jars, or 90 seconds for larger jars. Let cool before topping with more margarine, blueberries, and syrup. Makes 4 small jar cakes or 2 large ones.

I enjoyed these morning jar-fulls of cake magic with some slow French dream pop. If you haven’t heard of AIR (you’ve heard them if you’ve seen The Virgin Suicides) then you really should go take a listen. They’re one of those bands I get hooked on for about 2 weeks each year, and my obsession is currently in full swing. I’d recommend this song, or this one, or this one!

Happy nomming

Danny

47 responses to “Blueberry Pancake in a Jar

  1. These look so sweet :)
    I love Air as well, Virgin Suicides is one of my favourite movies x

  2. ah Air, soundtrack to my vdub campervanning back in the 90s. Interesting method, microwave, clever :)

  3. You are a mad genius and I am forever grateful!

  4. This is such a creative idea! awesome :)

  5. Very interesting! Such a cool idea! :)

  6. This is such a good idea :D. Really like it!

  7. Air rock and so does your recipe. Beautiful, creative and quick. Big winner all round! (one of my other fave soundtracks also from Sophia Coppola’s-Marie Antoinette) features fantastic music, from Air and many others alike! ;)

  8. Great idea!!! I can’t wait to try it. :D

  9. so having just made these (and by “just” i mean, “i’m just enjoying them whilst typing this reply”) in a non-vegan fashion (regular milk and butter), in half-pint jars, i have the following to report:

    - it is definitely better to underfill the jars than to overfill. they don’t like setting otherwise, and you find yourself nuking them about three times as long, which leads to overcooking, which is bad because…

    - they benefit from a little undercooking. it makes them more pancake-y and less biscuit-y. which is still delicious, and an intriguing idea. (biscuits in the microwave?!?!?!)

    i will definitely be giving these another go tomorrow morning, with some tiny ghiradelli chocolate chips. mmm, chocolate chip pancakes…

    thank you for a great idea!

    • Awesome, thanks for those tips, Liz! When I made them I used small jars, which accounts for how little time I needed to microwave them. They do tend to rise quite a bit, so under-filling is definitely preferred. With chocolate chips sounds heavenly- please report how it tastes after you’ve tried it! :)

  10. Your taste in music. I love it. Air is so wonderful.
    pancakes in a jar? I haven’t thought about that. Pancakes are great, and I just emptied a jar…

  11. These look amazing!! I’m wondering if I can do this while camping? Do you think it will work by putting the jars on top of some tin foil over the camp grill?

    • Hi Cara- I’m not entirely sure these are campfire friendly! The microwave does a great job of heating the batter evenly and letting it puff up to get that pancake texture. If you’re working with a campfire, you might be better off using a pan and making the cakes that way. Hope this helped, and let me know if you do try it!

  12. Wow; just made a big batch of these to feed a bunch of hungry and hungover friends and they were awesome! Definitely the perfect way to quickly and easily make an impressive breakfast for a crowd in a hurry– not to mention a great way to play hostess without being chained to the kitchen :) thanks!

    • Wonderful, I imagine these are perfect for hungover breakfast escapades, haha. And yeah, I love that they’re so quick! Immediate satisfaction :)

  13. you are so creative!! love this idea!

  14. Looks like fun will definantly try it when my grandaughters are here.

  15. ok. stupid question really. does the batter really fully cook? also about the jars- i reuse all the jars my food comes in. like jelly, salsa, nut butters whatever. i put them in the dishwasher (i know i should hand wash-i am not lazy,but tired alot) do you think that this, along with microwaving is okay for these glass jars? after so many rounds in the dishwasher the jars get this mark on the bottom. looks like eyelashes. i just didn’t know if i was supposed to be reusing them. again, i know it would be better to just hand wash. sorry for the weirdness-that’s just me! thanks.

    • If it’s a glass jar, I wouldn’t worry in the slightest. I use mine as drinking glasses and run them through the dishwasher and I’ve never had a problem. They hold up in the microwave fine, too. If you microwave properly it should be 99% cooked, and if not then you can always use 50% power and cook it an extra minute or two. I used small jars, so I really had no problem. Thanks for stopping by!

  16. Laura Kaplanis

    Is there a way to bald these in the oven?

    • I would think, yeah! I haven’t personally tested that method, but I’d guess-timate that 350 degrees for about 9 minutes would yield a not-burned-but-not-undercooked jar of pancake. Let me know if you do attempt it!

  17. This is such a fantastic good idea! I am so jealous I didn’t came up with this brilliant recipe ;)

  18. I just made these using what I had in the pantry (no blueberries, dairy, and lavender sugar instead of regular sugar) and they are absolutely delicious. It may be for breakfast, but it doubles perfectly for a dessert! :) Thanks for the great recipe!

  19. i always wake up super hungry too. granted, pancakes are relatively fast to mix together, but cooking them always takes too long in the morning! i usually eat them one right after another as i cook them because i don’t feel like waiting. problem solved.

  20. I just made these for my family or breakfast this morning and they loved them! I added in some fresh diced up peaches with the blueberries and they were heavenly :)

  21. Just wanted to thank you for the recipe. Enjoying one now with blackberries instead of blue.

  22. I just recently stumbled upon your blog….just wanted to say that I love this! Thanks for sharing!

  23. WHOAH this is so amazing, I want to give you big hugs for this. Thank you! :D
    Quick question, do you think we could prepare the batter the night before and keep it in the fridge for the next morning?

    • Wanted to let you know that I tried making it the night before and yes! It held up just fine! Just make sure you twist the jar lid on tightly! :)

      • Thanks a million Andrea! Deffos gonna make this the night before to speed up the process in the morning cuz I’m lazy like that :P Sleep time is precious in college hahah.

  24. This sounds like a wonderful answer to the constant breakfast dilemma. Just one question; can they be frozen either before or after cooking? Thanks for sharing the recipe, can’t wait to try it!

  25. Pingback: Breakfast in a Jar « twosaucysisters

  26. We’re eating this right now! Mmmmm I used frozen strawberries and a bit of maple syrup on top and it was great!! It’s so much quicker and easier than making pancakes on the stove.

  27. I made this for breakfast and it is absolutely delicious and seriously easy to pull together in the morning! I tossed a handful of frozen blueberries in the bottom of the jar and the pancake turned out great. Added bonus: no need to defrost the berries! A small salsa jar did the job for 1/4 of the recipe, with room to spare for butter and syrup. Thank you – this is too yummy!

  28. Good day! I just wish to give a huge thumbs up for the great info you will have right
    here on this post. I might be coming back to your blog for extra soon.

  29. Ashleigh😍😘❤

    Im eating this right now! This is delish! Thanks for the recipe doll! :)

  30. Anyone find that the fresh blueberries turned bitter? Ours did. Couldn’t eat them. Will try again with chocolate chips, but just wanted to see if anyone has a suggestion as to how to make it work with blueberries. Thanks!

  31. Does Soy milk work as well?

  32. Pingback: 30-Second Angel Food Cake + 12 more cool things to make in the microwave

  33. Pingback: 30-Second Angel Food Cake + 12 more cool things to make in the microwave - Henry Happened

  34. Pingback: Top 10 Surprisingly Delicious Microwave Cake Recipes | Top 10 Kitchen

Leave a Reply

