Pumpkin Cheesecake Bars


I have this strange aversion to predictability.

It’s not that I don’t like routine so much as that I don’t like knowing what’s about to happen. I remember being younger and always knowing what somebody was going to say to me (I always thought adults were condescending, oversimplifying everything they said). But then I got in the habit of deliberately directing situations in an unpredictable way by either doing something unexpected or saying something that completely changed the trajectory of a conversation.

Apparently, I started trolling early. Otherwise known as- once a Redditor, always a Redditor. If you don’t get it, you don’t get it.

But anyways, today I wanted unpredictability. I had planned out what my next blog post would be, which I never do, and it flustered me thinking about logistics. So I changed the trajectory. I went to the grocery store and assembled random foods that I knew I could somehow combine into a delicious nom.

And, as many know, there are few flavors in this world that I admire/worship/dedicate-my-very-existence to more than pumpkin. I know, a lot of people consider it a Fall flavor. To these people I say: whatever. Pumpkin is an anytime, any season, any mood kind o’ food. These bars are proof.

Vegan Pumpkin Cheesecake Bars with a Cashew Crust

Ingredients- Crust
1 cup cashews, unsalted
1/2 cup flax seed meal
1/4 cup dark brown sugar
2 tb unbleached all purpose flour
1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp cloves
5 tb vegan margarine, cubed

Combine cashew and flax seed meal in food processor, and blend for a full minute, until cashew are completely broken down. Add brown sugar, flour, cinnamon, and cloves, and pulse to combine. Add in margarine and pulse until mixture comes together in a crumby dough.

Press into bottom of 8″ by 8″ pan, and bake at 350 degrees for 10 minutes. Let cool completely before filling.

Ingredients- Filling
1 package extra firm tofu, 12.3 ounces
8 ounces
soy cream cheese
1 package
organic vanilla pudding mix, 3.8 ounces
1 can pumpkin puree, 15 ounces
1 1/2 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp ginger

Combine tofu, cream cheese, and pudding mix in food processor, and blend until smooth. Scoop half of mixture into separate bowl and set aside. In processor, add in pumpkin, cinnamon, and ginger, and pulse until smooth.

Pour pumpkin mixture over cooled crust, and spread evenly. Next add separate bowl of cheesecake batter over pumpkin, and swirl with a knife to marble to filling. Bake at 325 degrees for 20 minutes. Let cool on wire rack before transferring to fridge for at least 3 hours or freezer for an hour and fridge for 30 minutes. Cut into squares- makes about 9 bars.

A quick shout out to my puppy Sophie (I call her a puppy even though she’s 3 years old. She will always be a puppy to me. Always.) She’s going in for some knee surgery tomorrow. I have this theory that dogs are much smarter than we think, and that they really do pick up on emotional nuance. She seemed a bit put out today, but hopefully a half hour long belly rub helped.

“Look, Sophie! You’re on the interwebs now!”

Happy nomming,

Danny

12 responses to “Pumpkin Cheesecake Bars

  1. 100% agree- pumpkin is ALWAYS a good idea.

    Sending love to Sophie!

    Hair colour suits you!

  2. These cheesecake bars look SOOO GOOD!! I love your hair, and I LOVE that you said pics or it didn’t happen..TRUTH!

  3. These look like a wonderfully unpredictable and tasty treat!

  4. To quote the divine Ms Minogue, wow wow wow WOW! Pumpkin floats my boat in both sweet & savoury dishes.
    And I adore the pic of Sophie x

    • Thanks! I’ll tell her that later today when she’s recovering/napping (which is all she really does anyways). She’ll be flattered she’s got internet admirers :)

  5. The cheesecake looks scrumptious. And I must say, the camera loves Sophie.

  6. Pumpkin is good at any time, period.

  7. yummy, and to top it off a picture of a very cute dog, aw. Hello Sophie!

  8. I pretty much second everything everyone else has already said. THESE LOOK AMAZING. Already drooling and need to make them as soon as possible!

  9. This recipe is perfect! Made it for Vegan Thanksgiving Day Dessert and it was a huge hit! So yummy, thank you!

Leave a Reply

