Raspberry Teacake with White Chocolate Frosting

I feel like I’m always waiting for something.

It’s not entirely a bad thing, but I’ve noticed that it’s pretty omnipresent. Sitting on a train, waiting in a line, I’m waiting both literally and metaphorically. What am I even waiting for? Sometimes it’s small things- a package in the mail, a person I’m getting coffee with, and I usually plan my entire day around it.

Well today I was waiting for inspiration, and it came right in midst of my Parks and Recreation catch-up marathon. “Raspberries!” I suddenly blurted on the couch, spoonful of peanut butter in my left hand and Solitaire game in my right. My dog woke up and gave me a look that, roughly translated, said “Holy Jesus you are the strangest human and I can’t believe I have to put up with this crap.”

Sorry Sophie, now go nap again and I’ll be ready for your 4 o’clock belly rub. But first, raspberries.

These cakes are so very, very moist. And absurdly healthy, due to raspberries being such a huge part of the batter. It’s a single-serving cake, because… who shares cake? Not I.

They might be best enjoyed with tea (or coffee… always coffee), and a porch. Yes, I recommend a porch with each of these cakes. Maybe a porch with a hammock, or a rocking chair, or a small table with porcelain cats and a good book. But I don’t care who you are, where you’re from- everyone could use a spot of fresh air and a slight breeze and a teacake. So get bakin’.

Vegan Raspberry Teacake

Ingredients
1/2 cup raspberries
1/2 cup organic all purpose flour
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp baking soda
2 tb organic cane sugar
2 tb almond milk (or sub. any nut milk)

Mash raspberries in bowl with fork. Add in flour, and stir to combine. Add baking powder, baking soda, and sugar, and stir. Add almond milk until batter consistency, about 2 tablespoons, depending on how ripe your raspberries are.

Grease and flour two ramekins. Divide batter evenly between ramekins and bake at 350 degrees for about 12 minutes. Let cool before removing from ramekins and assembling.

Ingredients-Frosting
1/2 cup vegan white chocolate chips
1/2 cup organic powdered sugar
optional: 2 tb vegan margarine, softened

Melt white chocolate in small microwave safe bowl, heating for 20 seconds at a time and stirring until chocolate is smooth. Beat in powdered sugar using an electric mixer. If desired, beat in softened margarine. Frost cakes and garnish with additional raspberries. Makes one teacake.

I usually throw in some sort of music suggestion for y’all, and today I’m really feelin’ Night Time by The xx. They’ve finally got a new album in the works, set to be released on Sept. 11, and they’ve already released a few singles that are very promising. Worth a listen!

Happy nomming,

Danny

10 responses to “Raspberry Teacake with White Chocolate Frosting

  1. This looks insanely delicious! And I love that it’s single serving, because I don’t like sharing my cake either :-)

  2. I’m always impressed by the fact that you never seem to run out of things to say, I would blog a lot more if I could just think of things to say. This cake looks fantastic and I happen to have some vegan white chocolate chips too, but dammit I don’t have a porch or a hammock, curses!

    • Aha, curses! I actually don’t have a hammock, but I’ve got a shaded patio area that I’m inclined to call a porch and a stack of books right next to it. Mid-afternoon bliss ;)

  3. This cake looks like it would be perfect at a tea party- it’s so delicate looking and I love the colour!

  4. Totally cute, totally dainty and very, very porch worthy! :)

  5. Adorable and I’ll have to try it the next time we have raspberries on hand :)

  6. Thank you Danny…will give it a go!!!
    Can’t wait :)
    Elle

  7. A verry pretty, tasty & fabulously looking posh stylish vegan cake: so glorious! A must make!

  8. Looks so pretty! I am jealous of your decorating skills :)

Leave a Reply

