Chia Breakfast Yogurt

I discovered a new secret food.

They’re chia seeds, and what I would describe as one of the latest food trends. To be clear, I love food trends. Mostly because food is a lifestyle*, and it’s fun to treat it the same way we treat fashion and hobbies and such.

*”Food is a lifestyle.” -every true foodie ever

Chia seeds are magical when mixed with any liquid. They absorb the moisture and instantly thicken. They are the vegan version of gelatin, and they are so versatile! I needed something to fill the void where pudding once resided in my new vegan diet, and chia is that very thing.

Since the breakfast yogurt/oatmeal I made was so healthy, I threw in some (fancy seashell-shaped real Belgian) chocolate. You could get so creative with flavor combinations- I almost wanted to add some vanilla and call it cookies n’ cream chia yogurt. Endless possibilities!

Chia Breakfast Yogurt

Ingredients
1 tb chia seeds
2 tb nut milk
1 1/2 tsp cinnamon (or chai mixture)
1 tb maple syrup or agave
1/4 cup rolled oats
1 cup soy yogurt

Add chia seeds to milk and let sit about 5 minutes, until seeds absorb and thicken. Mix in rest of ingredients and refrigerate for about an hour. Alternatively, let bowl sit overnight and enjoy first thing in the morning.

Apologies for a short-ish post, but I’m packing a weekend bag for West Virginia, where my friends rented a cabin and where I’ll be relaxing the next few days. I want to go fishing, and hiking, and campfire…ing!

I promise- more posts to come over the next few weeks. I finished my internship today, so that newfound free time can be spent in my favorite place- the kitchen.

Happy nomming,

Danny

11 responses to “Chia Breakfast Yogurt

  1. mmm, chai chia…

  2. mm I really like the texture you get from chia seeds.
    Soy yogurt sounds good, and I bet greek yogurt would be great as well! :)

  3. great ideaaaa. I bought chia seeds to sprout em, but now I think I’ll try to eat em this way :-D

  4. Not to mention chia seeds have more omega-3s than flax! I put mine in sparkling water with some lime juice for a chia fesca, but this pudding looks delicious!

  5. Nothing better than chia and chocolate for breaky!

  6. Ummm…OK. I’ll be honest.

    I clicked by this one just because of the mention of Belgian chocolates. But dipped in chia yogurt?! You’re almost the same level of crazy I am! :-D

  7. The yogurt is for me but I am not sure I can get my hubby to eat it. He would go for the Belgian chocolate though haha.

Leave a Reply

