Granola Cookies

October air has a necessary tension.

I’ve always loved fall months best. Maybe it’s because it’s when the notion of “coziness” pervades all things. There’s nothing I love more than drinking my morning coffee while wrapped in a blanket, wearing patterned socks with moccasins, and seeing my breath as I watch the sky turn shades of pink.

But school isn’t meant for idleness, and so underlying necessities obscure my constant daydream. This past week was one of the busiest I’ve had, partly my own fault, given, but still- I always have something I ought to be doing.

Still getting used to the lighting in Crafts House. I’ll find that sweet spot soon, promise!

Like baking. Apparently I’ve let it slip that the kitchen is like my studio, and so now I’m expected to have a different nom for every occasion. Club meeting? Bake some brownies. House meeting? Cake for everyone. 4 am study break? Quick breads for the morning.

If it sounds like I’m complaining or something, trust me, I’m not. I’d bake all day and all night. Well maybe not all day, but definitely all night. Anyone else a stress/study break baker? Nothing better than butter, sugar, and flour to cut right through the cloud of work floating around my head.

Onto the noms:

There’s granola, the delicious, crunchy cereal that we’ve all come to know and love, and then there’s a granola, which Urban Dictionary ever so eloquently describes as:

“An adjective used to describe people who are environmentally aware (flower child, tree-hugger), open-minded, left-winged, socially aware and active, queer or queer-positive, anti-oppressive/discriminatory (racial, sexual, gender, class, age, etc.) with an organic and natural emphasis on living, who will usually refrain from consuming or using anything containing animals and animal by-products.”

If being a granola is wrong, then I don’t want to be right. These cookies are certainly fit for a granola, or anyone else who simply loves gooey yet crunchy, filling yet delicate, and refined but nostalgic vegan sweets.

Peanut Butter Granola Cookies
(makes about 30 cookies)

Ingredients:

Preparation:

In large bowl, combine margarine and brown sugar, and beat until fluffy. Add in apple sauce, peanut butter, agave, and vanilla, and stir until combined. Make a well in the center of dough, and add flour, stirring until incorporated. Next, stir in granola, one cup at a time, and finally oats, until dough is solid enough to stay together. If dough is too loose, add another 1/4 cup of oats and 2 tablespoons of flour.

Drop dough by tablespoon onto parchment lined cookie sheet. Bake at 350 degrees for 9 minutes, until edges are just browned. Let cool for 10 minutes before removing from sheet to cooling rack.

~

I should really go work on my biology lab now, but first, you might enjoy this session from Indians.

Happy nomming,

Danny

10 responses to “Granola Cookies

  1. Yes! Love baking as a stress reliever. And these lovelies look delish.

  2. Yummy sounding & appetizing looking cookies!

  3. These look amazing, and I love your description of the air having a “necessary tension.” So true and beautifully put.

  4. It’s lovely to see your passion for baking, it’s really contagious. Are you planning to make anything Halloween themed?

  5. These cookies turned out really nice. The kids liked them with a dollop of nutella on them, me I preferred as they are. Oh and they freeze really well. Thanks!

  6. Hi Danny,
    i hope you’re fine. I just re-discovered your blog today after I red it regularly last autumn. Then I stopped for whichever-super-strange reason and now you’re gone. What a bummer.
    Best wishes,
    Lara

  7. Your blog is so awesome! I love the food recipes…looking forward to seeing more posts!

  8. wait these look delicious

  9. I am very impressed with your blog. Really love it. Congrats on the well-deserved feature at Foodie Blogroll! Glad I found you there.

  10. You have been gone a long time. No updates.
    Anyways just popping back in, misplaced my recipe and wanted to make these cookies again.

Leave a Reply

