Banana Bread Bites


How do other people break down
time?

I’m asking rhetorically, maybe. I’ve always had trouble breaking down my own timeline into different sections.

I want to break down time into as much as humanly possible. It’s part of the reason I first got into photography, I think.

I’m interested in turning memory into something physical.

Vegan Banana Bread Bites

Ingredients
2 large bananas, ripened
5 dates, pitted
1 tb molasses
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/4 cup organic dark brown sugar
1/2 cup organic pastry flour, or all purpose
1/3 cup ground flax meal
1/2 tsp nutmeg
1 1/2 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp baking powder
1 1/2 tsp baking soda

optional:
1 1/2 tsp butter flavoring
coconut flakes, unsweetened

In food processor, add bananas and dates, and puree until combined. Add in molasses, vanilla, and brown sugar, and optional butter flavoring, and pulse until smooth.

In separate bowl, whisk pastry flour, flax meal, nutmeg, cinnamon, baking powder, and baking soda. Add in half of dry mixture to food processor, pulsing until combined. Add in other half and mix until a sticky dough forms.

Use an ice cream scoop or tablespoon to form small balls with dough, about 1″ in diameter. Place on silicon baking sheet at least 2″ apart. If desired, press shredded coconut into tops of dough. Bake on middle rack for 12 minutes at 350 degrees.

Ginger Maple Glaze

Ingredients
2 tb fresh minced ginger
1 tsp maple extract
1/4 cup organic powdered sugar

Mix all ingredients in small bowl until combined. Drizzle over cooled cookies.

The ginger maple glaze is optional, because without it these cookies really just taste like miniature loaves of banana bread. The glaze is spicy, but I think it works. I’m a huge fan of ginger, from its fragrance to its digestive benefits.

I recommend eating these in the early morning. There’s nothing like banana bread at 5:30 am, in an empty house with all the shadows going to opposite way of how you normally see them.

 

